Don’t be scurrrd

Right now I am in a short-term (dear sweet god make it so, pleeeeease) period of being totally and completely broke.  On a scale of 1 to Le Awesome, I give it about a 3.  Which is LOW.  But my health is good, I have a super sweet fort still up in my living room, Missy and Karla came over last night and we pretty much had the best time ever, I have a place to live with heat and all that good stuff, and I have lots of other things that people need to be at Le Awesome that aren’t financially relevant. 

When I have money, I tend to blow it on things like music.  Shows, CDs, and beerwhileatDACLUBwhereicanlistentomoremusic.  But when I’m broke, I will totally admit – with a healthy dose of shame – that I will download music I could otherwise purchase.  And thank goodness I’m broke right now because I FINALLY found one of the most near-and-dear-to-my-heart albums from my college days (thanks entirely to Justin Ouellette who is unquestionably the most talented single human being on the planet.  Tom agrees.  See, Justin isn’t human.  He’s from the future.  And I would be a dollar that he’s laughing at all of us right now for being so damn simple.  Oh, and I also don’t care if you disagree with me.  You just don’t realize that you’re wrong yet.)  It is The Avalanches – Since I Left You.  And it is pure undeniable joy.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  It is an album of joy.  Somehow it went missing. 

I had a lot of things go missing in between college and now.  Lots of DVDs and CDs (all purchased!) just vaporized into the ether.  But I don’t think I pined after any of them like I pined after the Avalanches album.  Yes, I know it’s been almost 10 years since it came out (!!!  I AM GETTING SO OLD !!!) but great is great is great.  And this album is great.   You can probably understand then how overwhelmed with excitement and happiness I became when, while totally broke and holed up in my WTWTA fort, I found Since I Left You online!  It was like being reunited with your best friend after they’ve studied abroad for a year.  Or something.  If you are broke like me, you can have it for free right here

I hope you like it.  And if you love it and aren’t broke, you should BUY it.  Trust me.  You’ll wanna hold it in your little hands.  It’s just that sweet.  For now, I gotta get back to the grind.  DOLLAR DOLLAR BILLS, Y’ALL.

downtime

One response to “Don’t be scurrrd

  1. I wear my bunny suit all the time!

Leave a Reply

