Classic Classical

I am trying to make a mixtape of classical songs for some friends.  In an effort to make sure and include some otherwise-forgotten gems, I turned first to the “genre-sort” function in iTunes.  Found some good stuff in “choral” and “chanson,” but shit got CRAZY when we got to “classical”.  First on the list:  Ace of Base – Don’t Turn Around.

Are you kidding me???  How the heck did that even happen on accident???

Ok, but then get this…  next up is PAULA ABDUL – FOREVER YOUR GIRL

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE JOKING.  WHAT THE SHIT. This is some straight-up HACKER shit.

Other super WTF songs to make it into this category were Laurie Anderson – O Superman and TLC – What About Your Friends.  What about them?  Well, T-Boz, Lisa “Left Eye” and “Chilli,” my friends are great.  And so are you.  But classical you are not.  You might want to talk to someone about that.

But then I discover that there’s a genre called “controlled demolitions.”  Guess what’s there.  Just guess.  Yah.  BEYONCE – HALO.  Yeah, I have that song.  What?  IT’S KINDA PRETTY.  YOUR MOM PROBABLY WAS, TOO, BEFORE SHE POPPED YOU OUT.

And THEN!  I realized I had music under the “native american” genre.  Mom, have you been sending me mp3s and I forgot about it?  Nope.  Upon closer inspection, the “native american” song I have is Short Skirt, Long Jacket by Cake.  Wow, iTunes.  You’re just WRONG about that.  But thanks for bringing me back to sophomore year of high school for a second.  It had been a while.

Thanks for tuning in for another episode of “overshare.”  Here’s a video for all your dedication.

Leave a Reply

